Here’s Why We Need Change

Have you ever been so irrevocably happy but in the back of your mind, all you can think about is how it’s gonna end?

Because here’s the miserable truth: Good things always end.

But so do the bad.

If you think about it, it makes sense. If what makes you happy is getting money every single day, eventually that will grow old and no longer serve you much purpose because you’ve ran out of things to buy.

The happiness dulls. It always does. Unless it changes, even just a little bit. We need to experience that change to understand why things make us happy, because more often than not, we don’t know what makes us happy until we’ve lost it.

We, as humans, get used to things. We adjust and we tend to lose old connections, feelings, emotions.

I’ve lived in Colorado my entire life. The same neighborhood, same street, same house. My entire life. And I freaking love it here, don’t get me wrong.

But here’s the thing: It’s boring. I’ve ran out of things to do. I don’t do anything to experience and relish in the Colorado living. I don’t appreciate the mountains I get to see everyday, nor the beautiful trees in the fall time, or the significant amount of snow we will get in the winter.

I have not experienced the change I need to appreciate the good that is right in front of me.

I’ve always wanted to go to college out of state just to want to come back to Colorado. If I experienced the change of scenery for four years at an out of state college, I would be longing for my beautiful mountains, my sunsets over the Rockies.

At the beginning of this summer I visited Oregon and Washington, two states that I’ve never been to – yet I considered colleges in both of them. These gorgeous places did not fail me whatsoever. The states were outstandingly green and beautiful. There are trees everywhere! I was seriously in awe driving down every street.

I visited one of the National Forests in Oregon and it was such a breath taking experience. It literally made my jaw drop due to its marvelous beauty. And you know why I was so amazed?

I had never been there. It was new. It was exciting.

It. Was. Change.

I think in order for people to be mentally healthy, we need breaks from the things we’ve grown accustomed to. We need to experience things in their absence that equally take our breath away so we can realize what we have and why we need to be happy about it, too.

In the end, when I was welcomed back by Colorado’s mountainous view, it gave me the chills to realize I live in such a gorgeous state already.

Experience change to learn what really makes us happy.

Leave a Reply

