The Pooper Scooper Factor

Here’s a truth: Everything in life comes with a “Pooper-Scooper” factor.

About three weeks ago I bought a golden retriever puppy, hoping and praying that it would solve all the problems life has been slamming me with. I’ll cut to the chase; it didn’t. Are you surprised? Probably not.

Ahead of time, I knew that the word “puppy” was synonymous with “work.” I knew that it came with bills, training, and a heck of a lot of attention. Despite my knowledge of this, I was not prepared for the exhaustion this little Dare-Devil I call Dexter would bring me.

He wakes up too early for me each morning, he needs his energy drained before he releases it by chewing on the trash in the bathroom, yet he can’t go on proper walks until he’s vaccinated. He’s not too interested in his toys, instead he’s content with going in the rooms that are off-limits and chewing on various charging cords.

He is a walking ball of fur and chaos but I love every bit of him.

If I didn’t have him, I wouldn’t get to enjoy his voracious tail wags each morning when he comes out of his kennel to greet me. I wouldn’t get to enjoy his sharp – playful – bites. I wouldn’t get to love the attention he gives me, the joy that comes from teaching him a new trick. I can’t explain in words how exciting it was for him to sit the first time without using a treat.

The best part is when he’s sleepy enough to let me hold him in my lap and cuddle on the couch. His presence has become my purpose at this point and time in my life and for that I am very grateful.

I love seeing him everyday. He gives me a reason to come home from work each night, and a reason to get out of bed each morning. He has created routine in my life, even on the days where I can’t bare to keep my head up.

Sure, I have to pick up his poop every time we go outside, but it’s worth the joys of getting to play with him. It’s the Pooper Scooper factor.

Everything in life has that factor. Every good thing comes with a challenge that may mask its wonderful bliss. But don’t let it stop you from approaching that good thing and holding on to it. It’s well worth the fight, even if you have to pick up some dog poop on the way – it’s part of the journey

.image1

Leave a Reply

