The Mystery of the Flight

I used to hate airport hallways.

They scared the freaking crap out of me. The length of them, the smell, the darkness, the fact that they all kind of seemed the same?! Yup, terrified.

My dad traveled a lot for work when I was younger, we were there picking him up nearly every day it seemed. Being young and naive, I thought he actually worked at the airport because in my brain we literally were there every single day. Every time we waited for him to come up those escalators, I was still shaking the nerves from coming along those hallways to get there.

I think the freakiest part was in the parking garage. Those hallways were the worst. They echoed, they had a certain stench, anyone could pop out at you at any moment and just grab you and take you away. That’s how I always saw it, anyway. I was a kid, after all.

And don’t get me started on the plane rides themselves, they should have sedated me for those. I was a whacked up kid who was afraid of just about everything: And airplanes? That was near the top of the list.

Well wow, how the tables have turned.

Today I boarded a couple airplanes (pit stop in San Jose, Cali on the way to Portland, Oregon), and I was smiling from ear to ear.

So yeah, the airports themselves are still a little overwhelming, but it’s not about the hallways anymore. Figuring my way through security was a little nerve wracking, even though it’s not my first time flying alone. I don’t do it often enough to be a pro like some of us, I guess.

But once I figured everything out, (and no – checking in a bag is not as simple as showing them your ticket and ID and shoving them the bag! They have little machines now to make you do half the work yourself!) I was all about getting the hell out of Colorado!

First of all, I love turbulence. I think it’s exhilarating and there’s not a feeling quite like it. It’s like, am I going to die? I don’t know but this is sure fun! When the plane lands/takes off? That stomach drop feeling is to die for. How could I have not liked that as a kid?!

Anyway, the thing I love most about airplane rides is the mystery of it all. No one knows where you’re going, what you’re doing, if you’re going alone or going to visit another. They can make basic assumptions based on your destination (although connecting flights is a real thing so that point technically doesn’t even count), the way you’re dressed, your age…etc. But the reality of it? They have no idea.

On a plane ride, you can be anyone you want because everyone is going someplace else. You may have the same destination, but your trips are completely different. It’s such a beautiful thing, to not belong to anyone, to not be tied to anyplace but the seat that you’ve selected on that flight.

That all being said,

 

HELLO PORTLAND!

Leave a Reply

